The Wairarapa Secondary School sports awards

The Wairarapa Secondary School sports awards are an evening of recognition and celebration and are a pinnacle event on the Secondary School sporting calendar along with being a formal opportunity for families and friends to see their children receive accolades amongst the Wairarapa Secondary School Sport elite.

The 2015 event held 29 Oct 2015 saw over 57 nominations put forward with a high calibre of finalists announced from 7 local colleges represented across 15 sporting codes. The event recognises those who have achieved at an exceptional level at New Zealand Secondary School Sport Council sanctioned and non-sanctioned events. The event has grown in popularity over the years with over 200 people in attendance on the celebration evening. It has instilled itself as an important part of the sporting landscape for the region.

The categories for the Wairarapa Secondary Schools are:

Sportswoman of the Year

Winner: Alison Andrews-Paul, Wairarapa College, Athletics

Sportsman of the Year

Winner: Liam Hare,  Wairarapa College, Football

Sports Team of the Year

Winner: Wairarapa College Boys Xl Hockey

Contribution to Sport

Winner: Drew Macdonald, Chanel College,  Basketball and Cricket

Junior Sportsperson of the Year

Winner: Max Spencer,   Rathkeale College, Athletics/ Triathlon

Emerging Sport Award

Winner: Dylan Drysdale, Rathkeale, Karting

Sportsperson of the Year – selected from the winners of all categories participating in a NZSSSC sanctioned sport.

Liam Hare,  Wairarapa College

Jerry Crump, Manager Operations & Marketing at Trust House Limited presents Alison Andrews-Paul with Sportswoman of the Year  2015.

Share This